From the National Library of Medicine: Roosevelt at NIH

I am taking a course this semester on archives and social memory and when I saw this announcement from the National Library of Medicine, I thought the blog would be a great venue to share the power of archives.

The National Library of Medicine has released this video almost 74 years after FDR spoke at the National Institutes of Health to dedicate the National Cancer Institute.

If you are interested in see more archival data from the 1940s and/or the National Library of Medicine, check their Digital Collection or YouTube channel.    And if you want to learn more about the Roosevelt family, catch the reruns of Ken Burn’s latest film, The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, on PBS.  (My parents saw it and highly recommend it.  It is on my to-watch list for winter break!)

Leave a comment