Hashtags of the Week (HOTW): Events Smörgåsbord (Week of June 10, 2013)

Cute as a Button

This week, Twitter changed their API. That has made preparing for this post much more challenging for me than it usually is.

I normally scan the streams for hashtags of interest, grab the streams with one of the many Twitter tools that allow retroactive stream archiving for the brief periods of time that the Twitter API makes this possible. Basically, if you want to grab a Twitter stream, you either have to know you want to do so IN ADVANCE (strongly preferred), or immediately after, or get a copy from someone who did capture it at the right time. This week, because most of my favorite tools were broken with the API change, I instead kept a list of hashtags to archive as soon as I could. My list currently has 167 hashtags that I would probably have archived this week, and couldn’t, most of which will now be inaccessible for archiving even once the tools start working again. [Please note, the tweets WILL be available for browsing and searching within the Twitter web interface.]

So. Well. Instead of a rich look into a few hashtags, I’m going to give you one tweet each for several hashtags from my big list, most of which are conferences or events. Enjoy!

[NOTE: This was my FAVORITE hashtag of the week. Worth exploring in depth!]

3 thoughts on “Hashtags of the Week (HOTW): Events Smörgåsbord (Week of June 10, 2013)

  1. Pingback: Hashtags of the Week (HOTW): Events Smörgåsbord (Week of June 10, 2013) | Emerging Technologies Librarian

  2. This is really interesting Patricia! What tools did you use before the API change, and have any adapted enough to be functional yet?

    • Hi, Irina! Most of the folk archiving hashtag conversations are in the situation of knowing in advance what they want. There are countless solutions for this, enough for a whole post just on that topic. The problem for me has been that I am scanning EMERGING topics, so I reacting to events as they happen or shortly after, and trying to capture the conversation quickly before it disappears. Frankly, I don’t know of many tools that make this possible, and fewer still that give me enough information to go back months later and figure out where the original tweet was. My favorite tool for this used to be What the Hashtag, but Twitter killed them off a couple years ago. Since then, my favorite has been SearchHash http://www.searchhash.com/ They started working on the change to the API before the deadline, but it hasn’t been as simple as expected, and they are still working on it. My list of hashtags for which I have largely lost the conversation is now over 200, and I am having to change my strategies for interacting with Twitter to accommodate the lack of appropriate tools for the kind of work I am doing. I am pretty disgusted with Twitter’s management and their history of flirting and teasing developers to create great tools, and then taking away what is needed to keep third party tools going. Twitter’s long standing history of this behavior is the strongest argument I have for switching to another platform. Identi.ca / Status.net / Pump.io? Google Plus? Preferably something with a strong open source community that is also self-sustaining. Something where my data is open, accessible, downloadable, and the tools only go away when the developer chooses, not when the platform chooses.

Leave a Reply

